How are you supposed to import entire websites using CSV files? How are you supposed to clone a site you want to add?

So far I have had no success with this software. It is not user friendly and documentation leaves out details that make it impossible to follow. None of my hosts provide CSV file backups. The procedure that is outlined to import sites is fuzzy at best. First start with how do you get the complete site exported to an csv file that you can use. You don’t even cover how to do this correctly. You assume its cakewalk and it is not!!! Its not like hosting providers are giving out CSV files. Then your clone procedure is also sketchy. I am scared to use it because it may replace the site I am trying to clone. I am not a newbie, but this is madness. So many steps are missing. I have not been able to migrate not one site to MainWP yet.

The procedure that is outlined to import sites is fuzzy at best. First start with how do you get the complete site exported to an csv file that you can use. You don’t even cover how to do this correctly. You assume its cakewalk and it is not!!! Its not like hosting providers are giving out CSV files.

Please review the help document about importing sites carefully:

We never say that you need to export your sites to CSV file from your host. As clearly stated in the document:

you need to download the example CSV file from your MainWP Dashboard:

When you open the file, you will see demos to see how to properly list your child sites that need to be imported.

Then your clone procedure is also sketchy. I am scared to use it because it may replace the site I am trying to clone. I am not a newbie, but this is madness. So many steps are missing. I have not been able to migrate not one site to MainWP yet.

The clone process is explained in details here:

If it’s scary for you to try, you can always make 2 test sites and use them to try and see how the clone feature works. Once you are sure, you can try with your production sites.