UpdraftPlus doesn't create folder within bucket if it doesn't exist already

Hello! I am a pro member utilizing a variety of extensions installed to my MainWP dashboard and management portal, one of which includes the UpdraftPlus extension, which I am utilizing in tandem with my AWS S3 account, and Updraft Premium Enterprise Plan. The AWS S3 account is configured using the Updraft-recommended IAM policy configuration (which can be found within their documentation, located here), This same configuration, when manually added to an individual website, from the WP-Admin interface, automatically creates a new folder within the configured bucket, if the folder does not already exist.

However, I am encountering an issue wherein the MainWP UpdraftPlus configuration is, for whatever reason, not ever actually creating that missing folder, for a newly onboarded domain name, when the site is added to the MainWP dashboard, or a website sync is performed, or any other operation. I’ve found that the only way that the backups are actually stored to S3 is to manually log into the S3 management console in AWS, and create the name of the folder manually.

Is there something that I am missing with my configuration, and not doing right, or would this be a bug in the extension?

Please feel free to request technical information, I am more than willing to provide.

Thank you!

1 Like

Hi @ahctsllc

Due to security restrictions imposed by the providers of remote storage options, some of them may need to be configured on the child site themselves, or on the storage provider’s website as is the case here.

After that initial configuration or authentication, the rest of the setup can be performed via MainWP Dashboard.

Thank you for your reply.